- American Diabetes Association
- American Heart Association
Information on cardiovascular diseases and their prevention. Some Spanish-language material.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System(BRFSS)
- CareNotes via Gale
Concise, customizable materials address patient condition, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial issues, continuing health, and the most frequently administered drugs. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search within this Publication” text box and click “go”.
- Carenotes via Micromedex (available in 15 languages)
Concise, customizable materials address patient condition, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial issues, continuing health, and the most frequently administered drugs. Limit search to a particular document type: General Information, Precare, Inpatient Care, Discharge Care, After Care Instructions, and DrugNote. Drug and discharge information for common conditions/procedures and frequently prescribed medications now available in: Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Polish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Turkish and Vietnamese.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Hospital Quality Initiative (HQI)
CMS has several efforts in progress to provide hospital quality information to consumers and others and improve the care provided by the nation's hospitals. These initiatives build upon previous CMS and QIO strategies to identify illnesses and/or clinical conditions that affect Medicare beneficiaries in order to: promote the best medical practices associated with the targeted clinical disorders; prevent or reduce further instances of these selected clinical disorders; and prevent related complications. This page includes links to reports and other documents that describe these efforts.
- Clinical Reference Systems via Gale
Provides patient education under 8 broad categories: Adult Health, Behavioral Health, Cardiology, Eye, Pediatric, Senior Health, Sports Medicine and Women’s Health. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search Within this Publication” text box and click “go”.
- Covered California
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (NIH, ODS, NLM)
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. Within the DSLD you may select one or more of the following to conduct searches of the database: (1) DSLD On Market = Label information from dietary supplement products that are currently on the U.S. market; (2) DSLD Off Market = Label information from dietary supplement products that have been discontinued or are no longer on the U.S. market. For the DSLD, all information is obtained from the manufacturers' labels. The DSLD is being developed initially for researchers and scientists.
Health information for the entire family. Some Spanish-language material. NOTE: There are commercial advertisements at this site. From the American Academy of Family Physicians.
- Harvard Health Letter via Gale (1990-2014, Fulltext without Graphics)
Leads the way in patient advocacy and encourages readers to take responsibility for their own health. Offers information on a wide variety of medical and health topics. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search within this Publication” text box and click “go”. Community Health Library has current years in print.
- Harvard Heart Letter via Gale (1995-2014, Fulltext without Graphics)
An academic newsletter presenting information on cardiovascular health. Offers expert advice and authoritative information to readers suffering from heart disease or concerned about their risk. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search within this Publication” text box and click “go”. Community Health Library has current years in print.
- Harvard Mental Health Letter via Gale (1995-2012, Fulltext without Graphics)
A consumer health newsletter presenting current issues in mental health for both professionals and laypeople. Includes reviews of professional literature and articles written by experts in the field of mental health. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search within this Publication” text box and click “go”. Community Health Library has current years in print.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
Contains magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Access 700+ videos, including Spanish-language videos. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health Information Translations
Use the drop-down box to choose a language - Chinese Simplified and Traditional, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Ukrainian, Hindi, Vietnamese, and Arabic.
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
Has insurance information for individuals, families, and small businesses. Go to all topics for other information.
- Immunization Action Coalition (IAC): Vaccine Information for Healthcare Professionals
Vaccination Information for Healthcare Professionals.
- Immunization Action Coalition: Print Materials in Other Languages
Vaccine Information Sheets, produced by the Center for Disease Control, are available in over 30 languages.
- Kaiser Family Foundation
- Mayo Clinic Health Letter
The Huntington Community Health Library has current three years in print. Selected editorials are available online. Browse current and earlier issues online at http://healthletter.mayoclinic.com/.
- Mayo Clinic's Symptom checker
This is the website of Mayo Clinic, and offers predefined lists for searching Adult and Child Symptoms. There is also a Symptoms index- a combined alphabetical listing. When clicked on a symptom, a page pops up that allows you to check off additional factors related to your health. A list of conditions/diseases related to the symptoms appears and when clicked on the any of the conditions, definition of the disease and list of the references can be accessed.
Extensive patient-centered information in English and Spanish.
- National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health (NCCIH)
The website provides an excellent overview of Integrative Health for the public and clinical practice guidelines for health care professionals. It includes a health information page that has an A–Z listing of health topics, information on clinical trials, fact sheets, and materials in Spanish. A free online continuing education series is available.
- National Institute of Mental Health: Statistics
Understanding the scope of mental health problems and treatment in the United States is central to NIMH’s mission. Much of what we understand in this area comes from research in the field of epidemiology; the scientific study of patterns of health and illness within a population. Research on psychiatric epidemiology shows that mental disorders are common throughout the United States, affecting tens of millions of people each year, and that only a fraction of those affected receive treatment. The resource below represents an extensive collection of our best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Equally important are sections that have been included on mental health-related disability and on suicide.
- Nutrition Care Manual Client Education
Research- and evidence-based nutrition care information for more than 100 diseases, conditions, and topics.
- Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual
Research- and evidence-based pediatric nutrition care information for more than 100 diseases, conditions, and topics.
- Print Books in the Community Health Library (links to Online Catalog)
Click on the “Huntington Community Health Library” link on the left hand menu to get links to: HCHL Books, HCHL eBooks, HCHL Journals, HCHL Videos, Patient Education Handouts, and Informacion en Espanol.
- PubMed Health
Offers up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world. PubMed Health is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology, a division of the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.
Is an interactive tool for troops and families to get connected to healthcare and personal welfare resources.
- State Health Facts: California
This Kaiser Family Foundation website offers a number of categories to choose from.
- UpToDate For Patients
Provides hundreds of patient information topics, allowing patients and healthcare providers to share in the decision making process. Some offsite access may be available, no password needed.
- WebMD's Symptom checker
The site is supported by WebMD and has a comprehensive index of trusted medical symptom information. Clicking on a symptom leads to a listing of conditions related to the symptom. When the appropriate condition is selected it leads to the overview of the disease and related references.