- Books@Ovid: Search Books
A collection of electronic books from Ovid. Includes the following titles at more: -DiVita's Cancer -Principles of Critical Care by Hall, et al. Searching on cancer topics will bring up relevant sections of books.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBMR Ovid)
CCTR is a bibliographic database of controlled trials, and part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. CCTR contains records to controlled trials articles found in MEDLINE and EMBASE, an international biomedical database with a focus on pharmaceuticals. Textword searching is best in this database.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBMR Ovid)
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is part of Ovid's EBM Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The CDSR includes working groups on such cancer topics as breast, childhood, colorectal, gynecological, hematological malignancies, and lung.
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (Ovid)
The link takes one to the OvidSP list of databases. The Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) databases are in that list. The EBMR databases combine 7 EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Search them together or separately. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials have different scopes than the remaining 5 and are discussed elsewhere. The remaining 5 all contain reviews of clinical trial articles. All contain cancer information, but one needs to search by text work to retrieve it.
- HealthStar (Ovid)
A subset of Medline, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. Under Additional Limits -> Subjct Subsets, one can select select Cancer or Complementary Medicine.
- HMH Fulltext Journals@Ovid / Search Table of Contents & Abstracts of Ovid Journals
HMH Fulltext Journals contains full articles to journals that the library subscribes to on Ovid, including those in Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus. It does not include journal subscriptions from other vendors. The advantage to searching this database is that one can search the fulltext of the article not just title/abstract/subjects as in the other databases. Search Table of Contents & Abstracts of Ovid Journals provides a search interface to all health related journals offered by Ovid. The HMH Fulltext Journals@Ovid and Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus databases are subsets of this database. Click "i" for search tips.
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence Based Practice (OvidSP)
JBI includes a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. Includes seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- OvidSP Medline
- Medline In-Process (OvidSP)
Recently published journal articles that have not yet been indexed for Medline. Keyword searching only. Cannot limit to specific age groups, instead use keywords such as pediatric, neonate, newborn, child, children, adolescents, boys, girls, etc.
Search for the patient inserts for cancer drugs. Also, search Carenotes tab for patient handouts.
- Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
Offers evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) therapies. Interactive tools offers information on interactions between complementary and/or prescription therapies. With an individual account, can be downloaded to a mobile device (free for 1 year). See Mobile Device Guide for more information. Cancer: Includes many CAM substances and techniques that people use to treat cancer. Emergency Medicine: Includes toxicology information for various herbs and supplements.
- Nursing Full Text Plus (OvidSP)
Contains a collection of full text nursing and allied health (NAH) journals. Search as discussed in HMH Full Text Journals@Ovid.
OvidSP is an online portal and interface for biomedical literature including: fulltext journals, ebooks, Evidence Based Medicine Reviews, MEDLINE, and more. Off-site access is available, contact the library at x5161.
- PubMed (NLM)
This the HMH version of the biomedical literature database is from the National Medical Library. It is the equivalent of MEDLINE and MEDLINE In Process… in Ovid. It has more full text attached to it than the PubMed produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Search hint: In the Search box, enter the term(s) you are looking for, e.g., cancer, leukemia. If you click on the Limits tab, cancer is one of the subset choices.
- UpToDate: Contents for Oncology
Search on the regular UpToDate interface at http://www.uptodate.com/contents/search or use this link to go to the contents for the "Oncology" topic summaries. Browse here by broader categories or search for the topic of interest in the textbox at the top. UTD offers point of care/bedside care statements on various cancers and aspects, such as diagnosis and treatment. Also contains patient education handouts. Search hint: In the New Search box enter your term(s), e.g., treatment of mycoses fungoides. The tabs at the top of the results list allow one to see All Results, or limit them to adult or pediatric reviews or patient handouts. The Calculators tab gives a subject list of different calculators, among them, Oncology Calculators.
- UpToDate: What's New & Practice Changing Updates
The UpToDate What’s New section summarizes the most important new medical findings since the last release for each subspecialty. Practice Changing UpDates are listed at the top of the What’s New page as well as incorporated into the list of updated topics by specialty. They highlight specific new recommendations and/or updates that may change clinical practice.