- AccessMedicine: Image Index
McGraw-Hill's Access Medicine is a subscription-based website that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to over 35,000 photos and illustrations. Users can watch Grand Rounds molecular-level animations adapted from Goodman & Gilman’s, procedural videos and many other animations of procedures. Click "i" for copyright/use information.
- ClinicalKey: Multimedia
ClinicalKey's Multimedia search includes over 104,000 medical images, figures and tables. The ClinicalKey license agreement allows users to "pull figures, images, and tables from the ClinicalKey™ online service into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker™ for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, by or for the benefit of the Subscriber provided that the Authorized User obtains permission for such use of the ClinicalKey online service content that is credited to a third-party, from such third-party, if necessary; each copy of the presentation will carry appropriate credit to the content owner; and all such uses are non-commercial."
- Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery (American Ed.) Image Quiz Library
The Editors of JBJS challenge you to sharpen your diagnostic skills with the JBJS Image Quizzes. Each interactive quiz is based on images from content published by JBJS and includes a discussion area for further exploration of ideas and concepts.
Also available in mobile version at the App Store
- OvidSP Multimedia
You now have access to the multimedia assets belonging to the journals and books HMH currently subscribes to on Ovid. This includes videos of procedures, expert interviews, diagnosis and treatment techniques, lectures and article discussions, as well as images for visual diagnosis, education, presentations and more. All available multimedia assets will be identifiable at the top of your search results. Browse all related video and images while still maintaining access to your full-text content results. You can filter multimedia search results by media type, duration of video, subject matter and other criteria—and print, export, download, and email results to colleagues. First conduct your search. If multimedia are available they will appear at the top of the Results list as seen below. Note if there is a link to “See more multimedia results.” Click on that link to see all multimedia available from your search results.
- OvidSP: Exporting Images to PPT from Ovid Fulltext HTML articles
This short tutorial provides a demonstration on how to export images from within the Ovid Fulltext journal articles (HTML version) to a Powerpoint slide. A short registration is required before viewing. Copyright notice and citation is automatically provided on the slide when exported in this way.
- Red Book® Online: Visual Library
The Red Book Online Visual Library is a collection of more than 2,000 images and captions. Captions are searchable or browse by topic. Click "i" for copyright/use information.
- UpToDate: Graphics
UpToDate (UTD) topic summaries include graphics (images, figures and tables) that can be exported to a PowerPoint slide. The easiest way to find graphics is to select Graphic
s from the search window before you do your search. One may also do a search on a topic, then scroll down to the Graphics
section of the Topic review.To download a graphic: Click on the graphic of interest to open it in a new window then, click on the Export to Powerpoint
link at the top of the page to export. For more information see, Conducting a Graphics Search.
- American Society of Hematology Image Bank
- Anatomical Sciences Image Library
If you would like to submit an image to the Anatomical Sciences Image Library, there is a link at this site to do so. To access an image database, please click on one of the below links. Some of the websites may require registration and/or a fee for usage, or may restrict or disallow classroom distribution. Please note - by using this resource you are agreeing to the rules spelled out in the Legal and Privacy Notices and Disclaimers page.
- eMicrobes Digital Library
The goal of this site is to present images of interesting and instructive Infectious Disease cases to healthcare professionals for educational purposes. The images presented have been contributed by faculty and fellows, and the viewer is advised that some of the images are of a graphic and sensitive nature and are not intended for a general audience. Free registration required.
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions. For information on copyright & reuse, click here
- FAQ: Medical Stock Sources (Sources of Medical Images, Photographs and Videos from the US government)
This FAQ contains links to governmental and non-governmental resources for medical images. The site specifies, “Most of these images and graphics are in the public domain. However, some images may be protected by license. Read the disclaimers on each site before use.”
- Google Image Search
For copyright information on content found through Google Images contact the original provider for the content.
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)(National Library of Medicine)
Copyright information for each image in IHM is located in the Copyright Statement field of Media Information in the left hand sidebar when viewing an image in Detail View. Reproduction, distribution, or screening (in the case of motion pictures) of protected items beyond U.S. Copyright Law's fair use provisions requires the copyright owner's written permission.
- Index of Medieval Medical Images - UCLA Library
Creative Commons License - Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Any usage is to be attributed as follows: Created by the UCLA Library and used with permission.
- IV-Therapy.net Image Gallery
- Medicine in the Americas, 1619-1914: A Digital Library (National Library of Medicine)
This digital resource includes over 300 freely available early American printed books, showing the development of American medicine from 1610 to the early 20th century. The collection will be of interest to scholars, educators, writers, students and others who wish to use primary historical materials to help expand knowledge of medical and public health history for the advancement of scholarship across the disciplines and for the education of the general public.
- MedlicineNet.com: Image Collection
- NEJM Browse Figures & Multimedia
The NEJM Figures & Multimedia archives has over 20,000 images, graphs, audio and video from articles. It is not searchable but one can filter results by specialty, media type and/or date. Permissions information can be found by clicking on the Reprint & Permissions link to the right of each article. Powerpoint slides can be purchased by clicking on the slide set link to the right of some articles.
- NIH Image Bank
Contains images from the collections of the 27 institutes and centers that constitute NIH. Among its contents are general biomedical and science-related images, images of clinicians, scientists, famous faces, and NIH staff; patient-care-related images; microscopy images; laboratories; and various exterior images. NIH images are in the public domain and cannot be copyrighted. Images may be used, linked or reproduced without further permission from NIH. Images can be browsed by category or by institute or can be located via a search tool.
- NIST Image Gallery (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
The NIST Image Gallery contains both photographs and graphics related to the work of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Major topics include research areas such as nanotechnology, homeland security, biotechnology, electronics, manufacturing, chemistry, physics, materials, construction, fire, and computer science; NIST buildings and facilities; portraits of selected NIST senior staff members, and historical photos. For copyright & reuse information click here
- Paediapaedia: An Imaging Encyclopedia of Pediatric Disease
Site states, “All contents copyright © 1992-2013 Donna M. D'Alessandro, M.D. and Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. and the authors. All rights reserved." "Virtual Pediatric Hospital", the Virtual Pediatric Hospital logo, and "A digital library of pediatric information" are all Trademarks of Donna M. D'Alessandro, M.D. and Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D." Virtual Pediatric Hospital is funded in whole by Donna M. D'Alessandro, M.D. and Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Advertising is not accepted."
- PubMed Central (PMC)
Search on the topic of your interest and the search engine will automatically search the captions of images in the PMC database. Copyright permissions are not stated, contact the publisher for permission requests.
- SAGES Image Library
Society of American Gastrointestinal & Endoscopic Surgeons. Free to all to search and view. For viewing full size images without a watermark, login with your SAGES Membership.
- WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory
WebPath® is an instructional resource containing over 2000 images with text that illustrates gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. WebPath is for personal and noncommercial use (for full copyright statement see bottom of page at their website).
- Wellcome Images
Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licenses. For further details please see http://images.wellcome.ac.uk/indexplus/page/Terms+of+Use.html.
Search for the topic of the image you want to find. Images in the articles all include licensing and permissions information. Click on image to find licensing and permissions information.
Health Sciences Library
Contact InfoLibrary Hours:
Mon ~ Fri 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
(Clinical & Allied Health
badge access 24/7)
Wingate Building, 1st Floor
phone: (626) 397-5161
fax: (626) 397-2908Send Email