HMH Sharepoint Intranet
(on-site or logged in users only)
HMH WebsiteLibrary Home
This is the "Books & Journals" page of the "Integrative Medicine Resources (HSL)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Complementary & Alternative Medicine
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2016 URL: http://huntingtonhospital.libguides.com/hslintegrative Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books and Journals

  • Complementary Medicine E-Books  Icon
    An automatic search of the library's Online Catalog for e-books on integrative/complementary medicine.
  • Complementary Medicine Journals  Icon
    An automatic search of the library's Online Catalog for print and electronic journals on integrative/alternative medicine.
  • Library Online Catalog  Icon
    Search the catalog for print books/ebooks, journal/ejournal titles, databases or internet resources.

Electronic Books & Reports for Health Professionals

 

Print Books in the Library

Green Pharmacy - Barbara Griggs; Norman R. Farnsworth (Foreword by)
Call Number: WB 925 V242 1981
ISBN: 0670354341
Publication Date: 1982-03-12

Cover Art
PDR® for Herbal Medicines - Thomson PDR Staff
Call Number: QV 766 P348 2004
ISBN: 1563635127
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
This reference provides information on more than 700 herbal remedies with more than 100 new herbal monographs added.

Cover Art
Mosby's Complementary and Alternative Medicine - Lyn W. Freeman
Call Number: WB 890 F855 2004
ISBN: 0323026265
Publication Date: 2004-03-26
Designed in a true "textbook" format, this research-based book provides comprehensive and clinically-relevant coverage of complementary and alternative medicine. It covers the history, philosophy, and mechanisms of complementary medicine and alternative therapies, and includes a thorough review of the clinically controlled trials, indications, and contraindications of each therapy. Each chapter follows a consistent format with helpful features, such as: Why Read This Chapter, Chapter at a Glance, An Expert Speaks, review questions, critical thinking questions, clinical application questions, and more. The evidence-based approach allows readers to explore the efficacy of a therapy and confidently make decisions regarding its use. Research summaries help readers assess scientific research in areas related to complementary and alternative medicine. A focus on healing methods rather than systems makes it easy for conventional practitioners to incorporate specific therapies into their existing practice. Textbook features such as Why Read This Chapter, Chapter at a Glance, and Chapter Objectives establish a chapter framework that provides an excellent introduction to the material and facilitates learning. Self-test and review features such as Review Questions, Critical Thinking and Clinical Application Questions, Key Terms, and Points to Ponder reinforce content and stress points that are most important. A new chapter on Aromatherapy (Chapter 14) examines the research behind this increasingly popular treatment. The chapter on Spiritual Medicine has been completely rewritten to reflect current knowledge. The most up-to-date data on professional licensing ensures that readers understand requirements for practice. Updated expert interviews add fresh and current perspectives to the chapters. Learning Opportunities in most chapters identify shadowing, interviewing, and experiential opportunities to enhance the classroom experience. Improved illustrations and photographs throughout make the book more visual and engaging.

Cover Art
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine - Wayne B. Jonas
Call Number: W 13 M893 2005 DICT
ISBN: 0323025161
Publication Date: 2004-12-27
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine is a contemporary, comprehensive glossary of approximately 6,600 terms and 500 illustrations, along with 24 appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field. The terms and definitions cover the five major areas of complementary and alternative medicine, as outlined by the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine of the National Institutes of Health: 1) alternative health care systems; 2) mind-body interventions; 3) biologically based therapies; 4) manipulative and body-based healing methods; and 5) energy therapies. This dictionary is intended to be a quick and ready reference to the common terms used in those medical and healing practices that lie outside of conventional medicine. It's ideal for conventional health professionals who need to quickly find definitions of common CAM terms and descriptions of their meaning. It is also a handy reference for those in introductory courses on CAM in medical, nursing, and allied health schools, as well as the interested lay consumer. Provides a comprehensive resource for improving communication among practitioners of various disciplines and between patients and their health care providers. Approximately 6,600 terms are listed. Both general and "first level" specialized terms are included. Over 500 illustrations visually represent the terms and concepts within, and extensive appendices provide quick, easy-to-use resources on CAM specialties. 23 appendices explore the history, theory, and practice of numerous systems of complementary and alternative medicine, and an additional appendix provides the latest information on HIPAA regulations. The most common concepts and terms in use around the world were selected, and both definitions and descriptions of their meaning are included. Provides up-to-date definitions of terms, including the current definitions for archaic terms. Coverage includes terms used throughout CAM literature and terms commonly found in areas of the world where conventional medicine predominates. If necessary, descriptive information about the term and practice has been provided, going above and beyond the standard definition format. All entries have been thoroughly scrutinized and edited by Wayne Jonas, a leading figure and recognized expert in CAM. A pronunciation guide for key entries is located in the front of the dictionary, and pronunciations follow the terms when necessary. Synonyms help users understand the terms. Portable size creates the convenience needed in a chairside reference. Thumb bleeds for each letter in the alphabet aid in locating definitions more quickly. Flexible cover increases durability.

Librarian

Profile Image
Jeya Thangarajah
Contact Info
Library Hours:
Mon - Fri 8 AM-4:00 PM
(626)397-5161 (Phone)
(626)397-2908 (Fax)
(626)344-0542 (Text)
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip