Contains drug information, including an interactions feature. Also contains patient information in its CareNotes section.
- Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
Ovid contains a number of databases with information relevant to nursing. Medline contains nursing MeSH terms (subject headings); also a nursing subheading to help focus results to nursing articles, and under Additional Limits -> Journal Subsets, a limit results to nursing journals. The other databases can be text word searched for nursing concepts. The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) database and the EBMR Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are full text EBP databases, with the JBI database specifically geared to nursing and allied health information.
- PubMed (NLM)
This is the HMH version of the biomedical literature database is from the National Medical Library. It is the equivalent of MEDLINE and MEDLINE In Process… in Ovid. It has more full text attached to it than the PubMed produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The nursing limits in the OvidSP entry for Medline also apply to the Medline portion of PubMed.
Point of care information covering over 20 specialties, Also has Guidelines, calculators, handouts for patients, drug information including an interactions tool. Some topic reviews contain nursing sections.
- Cochrane Community Archive
An international not-for-profit, independent organization, providing up-to-date information about the effects of healthcare. The Cochrane Library has four distinct databases: · The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews* · Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects* · The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register* · The Cochrane Review Methodology Database* *The Health Sciences Library offers these databases online on Ovid. We do not subscribe to them at this site.
Peer-reviewed, referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
- Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
A database containing citations to journal articles and other education-related materials. Links to full text included, when available.
- Google Scholar
Searches peer-reviewed literature on the internet. Best used when looking for very current/in press articles or for journals or literature formats (patents, etc.) not indexed in Medline. For more options, go to the drop down on the search window for Advanced Search.
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
The Joanna Briggs Institute is an international, not-for-profit, membership based research and development organisation within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide. The Institute specializes in promoting and supporting evidence-based healthcare by providing access to resources for professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health. With over 64 collaborating centres and groups, servicing over 90 countries, the Institute is a recognised global leader in evidence-based healthcare. Free access to Evidence Summaries, Pest Practice Series, Best Practice Information Sheet, Technical Reports and protocols for Reviews in progress. The library subscribes to the JBI database through its OvidSP
Extensive patient-centered information in English and Spanish.
- National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Database and website for information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures and measure sets.
Database of reproductive health citations & abstracts of articles, reports, books and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning an related issues.