- AAP: Patient Education Online
Gives parents and other caregivers reliable, up-to-date health and safety information from the complete American Academy of Pediatrics library of almost 300 patient education handouts.
- CareNotes via Gale
Concise, customizable materials address patient condition, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial issues, continuing health, and the most frequently administered drugs. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search within this Publication” text box and click “go”.
- Carenotes via Micromedex (available in 15 languages)
Concise, customizable materials address patient condition, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial issues, continuing health, and the most frequently administered drugs. Limit search to a particular document type: General Information, Precare, Inpatient Care, Discharge Care, After Care Instructions, and DrugNote. Drug and discharge information for common conditions/procedures and frequently prescribed medications now available in: Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Polish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Turkish and Vietnamese.
- Clinical Reference Systems via Gale
Provides patient education under 8 broad categories: Adult Health, Behavioral Health, Cardiology, Eye, Pediatric, Senior Health, Sports Medicine and Women’s Health. Search for your specific health issue within the “Search Within this Publication” text box and click “go”.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
Contains magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Access 700+ videos, including Spanish-language videos. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
- MD Consult Patient Education
Patient information provided in English and Spanish on a wide variety of conditions and treatments.
Extensive patient-centered information in English and Spanish.
- Micromedex Gateway
Evidence based information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care and alternative medicine can be accessed on this site. Care notes provide easy to understand information for patients on care, medications, health etc. in 15 languages. Provides drug information for more than 200,000 active and deactivated FDA approved prescription, over the counter(OTC)medications, neutraceuticals, bulk chemicals and some medical devices.
- Natural Standard: Patient Handouts
An evidence-based product that provides information on complementary and alternative medicine products and techniques for consumers and professionals.
- Nutrition Care Manual Client Education
Research- and evidence-based nutrition care information for more than 100 diseases, conditions, and topics.
- Print Books in the Community Health Library (links to Online Catalog)
Click on the “Huntington Community Health Library” link on the left hand menu to get links to: HCHL Books, HCHL eBooks, HCHL Journals, HCHL Videos, Patient Education Handouts, and Informacion en Espanol.
- PubMed Health
Offers up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world. PubMed Health is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology, a division of the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.
- UpToDate For Patients
Provides hundreds of patient information topics, allowing patients and healthcare providers to share in the decision making process. Some offsite access may be available, no password needed.
- Patient Education Materials Assessment Tool (PEMAT) and User’s Guide
An Instrument To Assess the Understandability and Actionability of Print and Audiovisual Patient Education Materials