FINDING STATISTICAL DATA IN THE LITERATURE
Search strategies for finding statistical information on the following Health Science Library resources:
- Books@Ovid: Search Books
A collection of electronic books from Ovid. B@O has no specific books on statistics, but a number of titles do contain statistical information. Search on such terms as statistics, statistical.
- EBM Reviews (OvidSP)
No easy way to limit, but does contain CAM material.
- Library Online Catalog
There are a number of print and electronic statistical books and journals in the HSL collection. Search the Online Catalog for such terms as statistics, statistical.
Search on such terms as statistics, statistic or statistical.
- Healthstar (OvidSP)
For health administration literature, a subset of MEDLINE. Under Additional Limits >> Subject Subsets is: -Cancer -Complementary Medicine.
- OvidSP Medline
Use the same search hints seen above in Ovid Healthstar.
- Medline In-Process (OvidSP)
Use textword terms such as statistics or statistical. Medline In Process does not have the indexing or Explode feature seen in Medline.
- HMH Fulltext Journals@Ovid / Search Table of Contents & Abstracts of Ovid Journals
HMH Fulltext Journals contains full articles to journals that the library subscribes to on Ovid, including those in Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus. It does not include journal subscriptions from other vendors. The advantage to searching this database is that one can search the fulltext of the article not just title/abstract/subjects as in the other databases. Search Table of Contents & Abstracts of Ovid Journals provides a search interface to all health related journals offered by Ovid. The HMH Fulltext Journals@Ovid and Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus databases are subsets of this database. Click "i" for search tips.
Point of care information. Does not contain much information on statistics for various conditions or procedures. Does have some Topic Reviews on the use of statistics, e.g., Glossary of common biostatistical and epidemiological terms; Proof, p-values, and hypothesis testing.
- WHO: Data and statistics
Country data on a wide variety of health issues including Millenium Development Goals, health systems, health equity, life expectancy, mortality, births, infectious disease, noncommunicable disease, environmental health and more.