HMH Sharepoint Intranet
(on-site or logged in users only)
HMH WebsiteLibrary Home
This is the "Rookie" page of the "Become a Journal Articles/eBooks Power Searcher on OvidSP (HSL)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Become a Journal Articles/eBooks Power Searcher on OvidSP (HSL)   Tags: continuing medical education  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2016 URL: http://huntingtonhospital.libguides.com/powersearcher Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Rookie Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction: Getting Started FAQ

Click on a question to see the answer.

What is OvidSP?

After I take the tutorials how do I get to OvidSP?

How do I access OvidSP outside of the hospital's network?

 

CME / CE Credits Now Available!

Hospital affiliated physicians and nurses can now obtain 4 CME/CE credits for completing the tutorials and quizzes for all four levels.

How do I obtain CME credits? (click to expand)

How do I obtain CE credits? (click to expand)

Technical Requirements (click to expand)

Privacy Statement (click to expand)

Guide Editor

Profile Image
Louisa Verma
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Library Hours:
Monday ~ Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
(Clinical & Allied Health badge access 24/7)

Library contact:
phone: (626) 397-5161
fax: (626) 397-2408
text: (626) 344-0542
Send Email
 

Step 1: Rookie Tutorials

Title
(view all tutorials before taking quiz)

< 5 min
Basic Search
Learn the best ways to searching using OvidSP's natural language search mode (Adobe Flash Player required)
Tutorial
Select a Database
Learn how to select a database, access field guides for each database, change databases & create database groups (Adobe Flash Player required)
Tutorial
Results Tools
Learn how to refine your results by year, author, subject or publication type (Adobe Flash Player required)
Tutorial
Find Similar
Learn how to find articles that are similar to an article of interest

Tutorial

Working with Results
Learn how to select, print, email, export or add results to My Projects (Adobe Flash Player required)
Tutorial
Creating a Personal Account
Learn the benefits of having your own account on OvidSP
 Tutorial
Find Citing Articles
Learn how to find more recent articles that cite an article of interest
Tutorial
 

Step 2: Take the Rookie Challenge

Rookie Quiz

Test yourself after completing the "Rookie" section of "Become a Journal Article/eBook Power Searcher."
Name *
Email *
1. Choose Status: *
2. What is a valid search strategy in the Basic Search mode of OvidSP? *
a group of terms
cut and paste or type in the title of an existing article
a question
all of the above
3. Which would result in retrieving articles with synonyms, plurals and alternative spellings to your Basic Search query? *
checking the Include Related Terms checkbox
unchecking the Include Related Terms checkbox
typing into the search box any synonyms, plurals or alternative spellings you can think of before running a search
4. What is the default sort in Basic Search? *
by year of publication
by author last name
by relevancy
5. What shows that an article is "most relevant" to your search query? *
5 stars
yellow highlighting of words in the article title
purple highlighting of words in the article title
6. How can you search more than one OvidSP database at the same time? *
click checkboxes next to database name,
then click [Select Resources] button
click on the database titles
click on the "i" in front of each database name
7. Where can you find a description and more information about what each database contains? *
click on the title of the database
click on the checkbox, then click [Select Resources] button
click on the "i" in front of the database name
8. What is the FASTEST way to narrow your results to only the latest 5 years in Basic Search? *
create a folder in My Projects to place any articles you find that have been published within the past 5 years
sort by Publication Date and scan only those published in the past 5 years
under Filter by click on Past 5 Years, then click Add to Search History
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip