HMH Sharepoint Intranet
(on-site or logged in users only)
HMH WebsiteLibrary Home
This is the "All Resources" page of the "Clinical Research, Writing & Publication Resources (HSL)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Clinical Research, Writing & Publication Resources (HSL)   Tags: clinical research, medical meetings, publishing, style guides, writing  

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2016 URL: http://huntingtonhospital.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

All Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CONTACTS

Kimberly Shriner, M.D.,
Infectious Diseases, I.M. Residency Teaching Faculty
research and publication guidance

Tracy Hetherington, Residency Program Manager, Internal Medicine
tracy.hetherington@huntingtonhospital.com, x5188
funding for GME activities such as conferences, poster sessions, etc.

Melissa Estrada, Residency Program Manager, Surgery
melissa.estrada@huntingtonhospital.com, x5187

Fernando Lumawod, MSN/Ed., RN 
Manager, Clinical Research 
fernando.lumawod@huntingtonhospital.com, x3877

 
IRB Application & Approval Administrative Policy No. 1005

WHERE TO (OR NOT TO) PUBLISH

  • JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
    A free resource to help you find which journal is relevant to your topics. Paste in the title or abstract of your paper and click "Find Journals".
  • Elsevier Journal Finder
    Only for Elsevier journals. Can limit to Open Access titles. Includes info on impact factor, acceptance rates and production times.
  • Edanz Journal Selector
    Works much like the JANE search tool above. Searches 18,000 journals. You can filter by impact factor, frequency and/or publishing model (open access, etc.). Provides links directly to the journal website.
  • Scholarly Open Access
    Use this site to find out if a journal you are considering publishing in has a reputation for predatory practices. Jeffrey Beall, a librarian at the University of Colorado, provides a "critical analysis of scholarly open-access publishing". His blog posts are searchable and he includes a A to Z list - "Beall's List" - of potentially predatory publishers. His criteria for determining whether or not a publisher falls under this category is also available.

OVIDSP HOW-TO TUTORIALS

 

MEDICAL MEETINGS

MEETINGS

FIND MORE MEETINGS

CMEPlanner.com
Helps physicians locate CME conferences in a specific specialty, time frame or location. Site is updated daily. Listings include sponsor, title, credits available and fees. Free registration is required.

FindCE.com: Your Continuing Education Concierge Meetings, speakers, online CE, and more.

Health On the Net (HON): Conferences and Events World-wide meeting database.

JAMA & Archives: Calendar of Events
Lists upcoming events, including conferences, seminars, workshops, and courses. CME tab at tops goes to a list of journals offering CME.

Medical Meetings Finder Search by year, specialty, organization and location.

Medpage Today
Provides a clinical perspective on the medical news that patients are reading and coverage of medical meetings. Named 2009 Best Overall Web Publication by the American Society of Healthcare Publication Editors.

MedPage Today: Medical Meeting Coverage 

NEJM: Medical Meetings Filter results by specialty, location or date.

Newswise Medical Meetings Calendar
Medical meetings calendar arranged by month and/or keyword searchable. Also available is a Scientific Meetings calendar.

RESEARCH DATA STORAGE

  • Zenodo
    Use Zenodo to store and share all research outputs from across all fields of science: Publications (Books, Conference papers, Journal articles, Theses, etc.), Posters, Presentations, Datasets, Images, Figures, Plots, Drawings, Diagrams, Photos, Other, Videos/Audio, Software, Lessons. Zenodo accepts any file format as well as both positive and negative results.
 

JOURNALS FOR PUBLICATION

A selection of journals publishing on community hospital/GME research in the areas of: Internal Medicine, Global Health/Infectious Disease, Medical Education & Training, and Surgery.

To see the scope of the journal, click on the "i" icon. For direct link to the instructions for authors for each journal title, search the Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences database from the University of Toledo. The Huntington Hospital icon indicates the library has a subscription.

In deciding on a journal for a manuscript, one might also look at the impact factor (IF) of the journal. Be careful when using IF's, as they can sometimes be misleading, e.g., where a respected subspecialty journal gets a low IF, because of its usefullness to a smaller audience.

There are several places one might look to determine the impact factor.

SURGERY (selected journals)

To see the scope of the journal, click on the "i" icon. For direct link to the instructions for authors for each journal title, search the Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences database. The Huntington Hospital icon indicates the library has a subscription.

CLINICAL RESEARCH RESOURCES

  • Clinical Research Department, Huntington Hospital  Icon
    Intranet site for Huntington Hospital employees.
  • Clinical Research Training On-Line (NIH)
    This web-based course addresses training and education standards of the NIH for performing clinical research in the Intramural Research Program. Register on-line at the course website. Those not affiliated with the NIH should use their affiliation information where NIH addresses, etc. are requested. The course is open to all and there is no cost. See the FAQ for more information.
  • Clinical Research: From Proposal to Implementation (Ovid)  Icon
    From the Preface:"...a basic guide designed to facilitate the recognition of basic potential roadblocks and to help identify the critical elements and resources necessary to transform a research proposal into an active research protocol." This guide discusses such topics as IRB approval, informed consent, ethics, statistical analysis plans, protocol implementation, etc. HH employees have fulltext access to this ebook from hospital computers or from offsite via Ovid username/password. Contact library for more information.
  • ClinicalTrials.gov (NLM/NIH)
    ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study. Studies are generally submitted to the Web site (that is, registered) when they begin, and the information on the site is updated throughout the study. In some cases, results of the study are submitted after the study ends.
  • Research Reporting Guidelines and Initiatives: By Organization (NLM)
    This chart lists the major biomedical research reporting guidelines that provide advice for reporting research methods and findings. The chart also includes editorial style guides for writing research reports or other publications.
  • The prevention and treatment of missing data in clinical trials [electronic resource] (2010)  Icon
    By the Panel on Handling Missing Data in Clinical Trials; National Research Council. ELECTRONIC BOOK
    Call Number: WA 950

STYLE GUIDES

MEDICAL EDUCATION & TRAINING (selected journals)

To see the scope of the journal, click on the "i" icon. For direct link to the instructions for authors for each journal title, search the Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences database. The Huntington Hospital icon indicates the library has a subscription.

GLOBAL HEALTH & INFECTIOUS DISEASE (selected journals)

To see the scope of the journal, click on the "i" icon. For direct link to the instructions for authors for each journal title, search the Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences database. The Huntington Hospital icon indicates the library has a subscription.

WRITING RESOURCES

Click on the links below to find print or electronic books in the library for writing (style guides, etc.):

POSTER PRESENTATIONS

CASE REPORT WRITING

  • Do More Than Discuss That Unusual Case...Write It Up!, Postgraduate Medicine, August 2000  Icon
    Article from a 2000 issue of Postgraduate Medicine highlighting the importance of case reports and encouraging physicians to write up their unusual cases. In print in the library or order document delivery at the above link (HMH physicians/employees only)
  • How to Write a Case Report, Family Medicine, March 2000  Icon
    To facilitate the preparation of case reports, we reviewed the existing guidelines and a random sampling of published case reports and created a fill-in-the-blanks worksheet for physicians to use to capture unique scientific observations. Although originally developed to assist family practice residents to write case reports, the case report worksheet can be used by physicians in any practice setting and any discipline to collect and report interesting, unusual, or newsworthy cases. Fulltext at the above link (must be at hospital computer to access)

SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS

JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods

In July 2, 2014 JAMA started a series of articles intended to "provide explanations about statistical analytic approaches and methods used in research reported in JAMA articles." Read more about this series of articles in the July 2, 2014 editorial Introducing the JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods.

The Health Sciences Library maintains an online subscription to JAMA. Huntington Hospital affiliates, please contact the library for options on accessing the below articles.

E-Books on Statistical Methods

Library Resources for Statistical Methods

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip