Multimedia Resources

A collection of examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations, including videos illustrating fundamental medical concepts drawn from Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine. Commercial use is not permitted. For copyright and use, information see "terms of use."

A unique collection of surgical videos and animations goes inside the anatomy to show step-by-step how to perform basic and advanced surgical procedures – as demonstrated by the world’s preeminent surgeons. For copyright and use, information see "terms of use."

The gold-standard reference for learning how to perform the most common surgical procedures using safe, well-established techniques.

Multimedia search includes 104,000 medical images, figures and tables. Their license agreement lets users:
...pull figures, images, and tables from the ClinicalKey™ online service into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker™ for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, by or for the benefit of the Subscriber provided that the Authorized User obtains permission for such use of the ClinicalKey online service content that is credited to a third-party, from such third-party, if necessary; each copy of the presentation will carry appropriate credit to the content owner; and all such uses are non-commercial.

Browse all videos or filter by title keyword or speciality.

Includes videos of procedures, expert interviews, diagnosis and treatment techniques, lectures and article discussions, as well as images for visual diagnosis, education and presentations.

MedlinePlus contains OR-Live surgery videos, interactive patient education tutorials and images from government and contracted sources. To search for an image, type in image topic and “image” (ex. “heart image” (no quotes) to find images of hearts). To search for a video, type in video topic and “video” (ex. bariatric surgery video). Governmentally produced information is not copyrighted; however, the A.D.A.M. images and OR-Live videos (as well as some other content in MedlinePlus) do have copyright restrictions. For copyright and use information for each content publisher, visit the MedlinePlus copyright information page. To get directly to the video/tutorial content, scroll down on the site map and select between Interactive Health Tutorials, Surgery Videos or Anatomy videos.

Selected motion pictures from the National Library of Medicine's Collection. For copyright and use information for each content publisher, visit the Copyright information page.

Explore texts, images, videos and maps from the National Library of Medicine's Digital Collections. For copyright and use information for each content publisher, visit the copyright information page

The National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world's richest collections of historical material related to human health and disease.

The Tropical Disease Motion Picture and Audiovisual Collection is comprised of films, videorecordings, and digital videocasts produced from the 1920s through 2009, with the majority shot prior to the 1960s. All are devoted to health concerns and include material on medicine and public health. Materials range from ideological, documentary, educational, and training films to American war propaganda. The intended audience is diverse and includes military personnel, health professionals, and the general public. The collection will be of particular interest to scholars concerned with the social, economic, and political implications of health disparities in a world where epidemics travel with great rapidity across national and regional borders. Guide to films available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/hmd/collections/films/tropicalguide/index.html