 |
Huntington Health Library Center for Health Evidence |
|---|
Employee Health: eBooks
Nursing Diagnosis
Nursing Diagnosis (2017)
Fastest way to find pediatrics topics is to click on the Index, click on letter P and scroll to Pediatrics. Publisher's Note: A comprehensive A-to-Z guide to current nursing diagnoses includes the most recent diagnoses approved by NANDA International.
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests (2017)
Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify keep concepts. Updated and streamlined content with new tests ensures you have the most relevant information. A new Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes. Tests are presented comprehensively and consistently, in a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test - including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. NEW and UPDATED! New tests have been added and outdated tests have been removed to reflect current best practices. NEW! A Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual (2016)
Here’s the 5th Edition of the resource you’ll turn to again and again to select the appropriate diagnosis and to plan, individualize, and document care for more than 850 diseases and disorders. A new, streamlined design makes reference easier than ever. Only in the Nursing Diagnosis Manual will you find for each diagnosis…defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively - sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses - prioritized action/interventions with rationales - a documentation section, and much more!
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Section 20 focuses on Pediatrics.
Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients.
Professional Resources
Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice
The premier resource for professional nursing practice, Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition, is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This keystone standard contains 17 national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why and how of nursing practice.
Nursing Care
Fundamentals of Nursing
Thinking. Doing. Caring. Fundamentals of Nursing, now in its 3rd Edition, continues in its groundbreaking, two-volume format. Perfect for both concept-based and traditional curriculums, it is the only text designed the way nursing fundamentals is actually taught. Volume 1 covers the theoretical knowledge taught in class, and Volume 2 covers the practical knowledge taught in lab. Think like a nurse from day one! Click here for a preview of the resource package that comes with your Fundamentals of Nursing text. Awarded first place in the 2015 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Medical-Surgical Nursing category Awarded second place in the 2015 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Adult Primary Care category Looking to bundle your text with an EHR? Learn more here!
Environmental Health in Nursing
Unit 1 Why Nursing? serves to inform the reader of the relevance of environmental health content for nursing practice as well as mandates from not only the 1995 IOM report but also the inclusion of environmental health (currently Standard 17) into the ANA Scope and Standards of Practice: Nursing beginning as Standard 16 in 2010.
Unit 2 Harmful Environmental Exposures and Vulnerable Populations provides an overview of populations across the lifespan and their specific vulnerabilities as well as specific populations such as workers, immigrants and persons with alterations in cognitive and physical abilities.
Unit 3 Environmental Health Sciences includes information about sciences that inform environmental health such as ecology, toxicology, epidemiology and risk assessment.
Unit 4 Practice Settings addresses hazardous exposures in healthcare, Green Teams, green cleaning in hospitals, and pharmaceutical waste.
Unit 5 Sustainable Communities provides environmental health content that looks at communities. This includes information on green building initiatives, green cleaning in homes, transportation, Brownfields, food, antibiotic use in agriculture and environmental justice.
Unit 6 Climate Change informs the reader about the impact of climate change on health and its implications for nursing practice.
Unit 7 Energy introduces the ANA resolution on healthy energy and addresses the important topic of Hydraulic Fracturing (Fracking) and its implications for health.
Unit 8 Advocacy includes information about advocacy for nursing practice, coalitions, legislative meetings and chemical policy reform.
Unit 9 Research includes summaries of interviews with 8 nurse researchers in environmental health.
Nursing Procedures
Please check for procedures under Huntington Procedures on Sharepoint before proceeding.
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills and Procedures (2015)
Take this pocket reference to clinicals on the job for quick access to nursing skills! Based on Perry & Potter's market-leading Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 7th Edition, Mosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills & Procedures, 7th Edition presents 83 key skills in an easy-to-use A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why to use specific techniques. With the latest in evidence-based practice, this book helps you perform basic nursing skills safely and effectively. Also available on Skyscape for use on any hand-held device! Safety alerts highlight important information for patient safety and effective performance of skills. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions help you troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. Special Considerations address teaching, the home care setting, and care modifications for pediatric and geriatric patients. Clear, two-column format shows how to perform skills, with rationales for each step explaining the reason behind the practice and the benefit to patients. A Gloving logo identifies procedures in which clean gloves should be worn or gloves should be changed in order to minimize the risk of infection. Documentation guidelines include a bulleted list of what should be reported and recorded in the patient records. Alphabetical organization of skills makes it easy to find information quickly, and each skill begins on a new page. A convenient pocket size and spiral binding allow the book to fit easily into your coat pocket and to stay open on the page you want. UNIQUE! Up-to-date content is based on the most recent edition of Perry & Potter's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, the bestselling nursing skills text. NEW! Additional nursing skills include instructions for blood glucose testing and applying a pressure bandage, both important skills in today's practice.
eBook Tips
Take time to explore the Table of Contents (TOC) of the ebook.
Use keywords to search within the ebook to quickly locate the relevant page or section.
Most ebooks will allow you to email or download a PDF of one page or a single chapter at a time.
Huntington Health Library | 100 W. California Blvd. Pasadena, CA 91105 | (626) 397-5161 | library@huntingtonhealth.org | online 24/7